Sir Keir Starmer

Sir Keir Starmer takes over the leadership of a reduced number of Labour MP’s, the country in lockdown and is up against a very strong and apparently proficient Conservative party. What could possibly go wrong?

The leadership contest was triggered by the Labour parties’ disastrous results in the 2019 General Election. This was brought about by Labour having its arm twisted and forcing us into a vote of no confidence in the Government due to the Brexit negotiations.

The election process started on the 24th February 2020, with candidates requiring 10 per cent of the MP’s and MEP’s vote. It was then the Constituancy Labour Parties (CLP’s) turn to vote and candidates were required to get 5 per cent of the vote or receive votes from at least three affiliated groups, including two trade unions and representing at least 5 per cent of affiliated members. Then it was up to us the party members to individually vote.

On the 4th April 2020 Keir Starmer was announced as the new Leader of the Labour Party with 56.2 per cent of the vote.

Instantly, Facebook and Twitter lit up with resignation threats from Labour Party members, claiming that Sir Keir is a blue Socialist and too far right from the Corbynite position.

The party, unions and individuals have voted for Keir, a more middle ground leader who brings with him little baggage in his five years of politics. The Labour Party needs to do something different and if returning to a more Blairite position is the answer, then so be it. I would urge all the members to properly support our new leader and not become ‘secret assassins’. We need to regroup, work hard in our communities, demonstrate good practice and, make the Labour Party re-electable in time for the 2024 General Election.

Keir Starmer’s constituency is Holborn and St Pancras. He is a former human rights lawyer and a former Director of Public Prosecutions. Rebecca  Long- Bailey came second with 28% of the vote and Lisa Nandy coming in third with just 16%.

Appointments so far:

Shadow Chancellor of the exchequer – Anneliese Dodds

Deputy Leader of the Labour Party – Angela Rayner

Foriegn and Commonwealth Office – Lisa Nandy

Shadow Home Secretary – Nick Thomas-Symonds

Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office) – Rachel Reeves

Opposition Chief Whip (Commons) – Nicholas Brown

Shadow Secretary of State for Health – Jonathon Ashworth

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.